U.S. Congressional Delegation to Visit Latvia

Riga, April 11, 2014 – A delegation of U.S. Senators led by Senator John McCain will visit Latvia from April 15 to April 16. The delegation will include Senator John McCain, Senator John Barrasso, and Senator John Hoeven. This visit is part of a larger regional visit, which will also include stops in Norway, Estonia, Lithuania, and Moldova.

While in Latvia, the delegation will meet with Latvian President Andris Bērziņš and representatives of the Latvian government, parliament, and Armed Forces. Additionally, the Congressional delegation will visit Ādaži military base to observe joint training involving U.S., Latvian, and Estonian troops. The visit to Ādaži will be open to press, and there will be a press availability following the delegation’s meeting with President Bērziņš.

U.S. Senator John McCain was elected to the U.S. House of Representatives from Arizona in 1982. In 1986, he was elected to the Senate, where he is now serving his fifth term. Senator McCain is a member of the Senate Committee on Foreign Relations, Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs, Committee on Armed Services, and Committee on Indian Affairs. He was the Republican Party’s nominee for President in the 2008 election.

U.S. Senator John Barrasso was elected to the Senate from the state of Wyoming; he is a member of the Republican Party. He was appointed to the Senate in June 2007 and was elected to a full six-year term in 2012. Senator Barrasso serves on the Energy and Natural Resources Committee, the Environment and Public Works Committee, the Indian Affairs Committee, and the Senate Foreign Relations Committee.

U.S. Senator John Hoeven, a Republican from North Dakota, was sworn into the Senate in 2011. Senator Hoeven is a member of the Senate Appropriations Committee, the Committee on Energy and Natural Resources, the Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry; and the Committee on Indian Affairs. Prior to his election to the Senate, Senator Hoeven served as governor of North Dakota for 10 years.