U.S. Embassy Celebrates Exchange Program Awards

Riga, June 13, 2019 – Today, Nancy Pettit, United States Ambassador to Latvia, will honor this year’s exchange program recipients for the Fulbright, Humphrey, Benjamin Franklin fellowships, and The Teaching Excellence and Achievement Program (TEA), as well as the Studies of the United States Institute (SUSI), Baltic American Freedom Foundation Fellowships.

Fulbright fellowships are being awarded to two students and three scholars from Latvia to study and conduct research in the United States. In addition, one mid-career professional will receive fellowship to study in the United States through the Humphrey fellowship. SUSI will send two undergraduate students and two scholars to the U.S. this summer, two teachers will participate in the TEA program, and 31 individuals will receive Baltic American Freedom Foundation fellowships to conduct research, participate in an internship, and Summer Leadership Academy in the United States.

U.S. government-funded exchange programs in Latvia include:

The Fulbright Program is the U.S. government’s flagship academic exchange program, which has provided more than 300,000 participants worldwide with the opportunity to exchange ideas and observe each other’s cultures and political and economic institutions.  Since 1991, the United States has offered Fulbright fellowships to more than 207 outstanding scholars and students from Latvia. Fulbright Foreign Student Fellowship recipients undertake graduate studies at U.S. universities. Fulbright Visiting Scholar Fellowship recipients conduct research and lecture in the United States.

The Humphrey Fellowship is a mid-level professional program that includes graduate studies at U.S. universities and a professional internship.

The Fulbright TEA Program provides a six-week program focused on teaching strategies and curriculum development and includes seminars and a practicum at U.S. secondary schools.

The Benjamin Franklin Fellowship is a program in which recipients take part in a four-week seminar for high school students from across Europe focused on leadership development and the fundamentals of U.S.-EU relations.

The SUSI Fellowship is a scholarship that provides in a four-week exchange program for undergraduate students.

The Baltic American Freedom Foundation (BAFF) mission is to enrich the ties between the United States and Latvia, Lithuania, and Estonia, through education and exchange programs centering on economic growth and democratic processes.  BAFF offers various scholarship opportunities in the United States to residents of Latvia, Lithuania, and Estonia.  Current American scholarship opportunities include: the Professional Internship Program for university students and recent graduates; the Research Scholarship Program for professors and others in academia and Summer Leadership Academy for high school students.

Fulbright, Humphrey, SUSI, Benjamin Franklin, TEA, and BAFF Grantees for Academic Year 2019-2020.
Fulbright Visiting Scholars:

Dr. Una Bērziņa-Čerenkova, Head of China Studies Center at Riga Stradins University and Head of the New Silk Road Program at the Latvian Institute of International Affairs will conduct research on the Influence of China’s New Trans-Regionalism—Policy Implications for the Baltic States at Stanford University.
Dr. Māris Andžāns, Assistant Professor at Riga Stradins University and Research Fellow at Latvian Institute of International Affairs will conduct research in political science at Johns Hopkins University.
Ms. Arta Snipe, Attorney, Law Office Amicus Curiae will conduct research in Law at the University of Massachusetts

Fulbright Student Fellowship recipients:

Ms. Egle Klekere-Krekele, Director of the communications agency Deep White, will work towards her master’s degree in Public Affairs at the University of Michigan.
Ms. Anna Bogdanova, Lawyer at Law firm Deloitte Latvia, will work towards her master’s degree in Law at Fordham University.

Fulbright TEA Fellowship:

Ms. Nadežda Dzalbe, English Teacher from Daugavpils Secondary School No. 16
Ms. Guna Savicka, English Teacher form Āgenskalns State Gymnasium

Humphrey Fellowship recipient:

Ms. Ieva Krekovska, Senior Desk Officer, Ministry of Defense, will study Public Policy Analysis and Public Administration at Syracuse University.

Benjamin Franklin Transatlantic Fellows:

Ms. Amina Lučkova, a student from Riga Art and Design School, will travel to Purdue University to participate in the Benjamin Franklin program for high school students.

Study of the United States Institute (SUSI) Fellowship recipients:

Ms. Lolita Stašāne, Lecturer at the University of Latvia, will travel to the University of Montana to participate in the SUSI program on Youth, Workforce Development, and Closing the Skills Gap.
Mr. Otto Tabūns, Visiting Lecturer at Riga Graduate School of Law, will travel to the University of Delaware to participate in the SUSI program on U.S. Foreign Policy.
Ms. Karlīna Jansone, a student from the University of Economics and Culture, will travel to the University of Massachusetts to participate in the SUSI program on Youth Education and Closing the Skills Gap.
Mr. Vairis Stramkalis, a student from the University of Latvia, will travel to the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga to participate in the SUSI on Entrepreneurship and Economic Development.

BAFF Fellows:
For Research:

Ms. Linda Lancere will conduct research in Rehabilitation Science
Mr. Valters Āboliņš will conduct research in Biomechanics

For professional internships:

Ms. Anete Aizsalniece-Kreicberga will focus on Art Management.
Ms. Sintija Erte will focus on Architecture
Ms. Ilze Laukalēja will focus on Food Science, Coffee Industry
Mr. Eduards Ozoliņš will focus on NGO and Media
Mr. Mārtiņš Pjalkovskis will focus on Financial Technologies
Mr. Bruno Vāvers will focus on Ergonomics and Product Design
Ms. Elīna Aļeiņikova will focus on Export and International Trade
Ms. Ella Spuriņa will focus on Building Engineering
Ms. Helēna Stavro will focus on Marketing
Ms. Anna Korvena-Kosakovska will focus on Medicine Equipment Production
Mr. Jānis Laucenieks will focus on Contemporary circus
Ms. Anna Kristiāna Dāve will focus on Architecture
Ms. Elza Priede will focus on Education and Leadership
Ms. Karīna Sermuksle will focus on Project Management

Leadership Academy:

Ms. Gabriela Lenerte, from Riga State Gymnasium #1
Mr. Dmitrijs Ustinovs, from Riga State Gymnasium #3
Mr. Everts Kistkins, from Ogre Secondary School #1
Ms. Laura Zviedre, from Riga State Gymnasium #2
Mr. Matīss Dambergs, from RTU Engineering Secondary School
Ms. Lāsma Šēnberga, from Valmiera Viestura secondary School
Ms. Anna Muižniece, from Riga State Gymnasium #1
Mr. Kārlis Starks, from Āgenskalns State Gymnasium
Ms. Sabīne Šurna, from Ogre Secondary School #1
Ms. Agija Buliņa, from Ādaži Secondary School
Ms. Anna Grimailova, from Jelgava Spīdola State Gymnasium
Ms. Elizabete Ulmane, from Cēsis State Gymnasium
Mr. Ralfs Bormanis, from Madona State Gymnasium
Mr. Artūrs Danga, from Riga State Gymnasium #3
Mr. Kārlis Griška, from Aknīste Secondary School